Be in the know

Sign up for announcements



:: November 12, 2014

Five Things You Didn’t Know about Tequila



1. It has a very, very long history. The precursors to tequila date back to the Aztecs…about 2,000 years.


2. The agave or maguey—that spiky leafed plant on our bottle— is not a member of the cactus family. It is actually a succulent plant  and related to the Lily family.


And, according to Mexican law, tequila can only be made from one type of agave, agave tequilana Weber, or blue agave. (Yes, that’s why we are Blue Nectar Tequila.)


3. Tequila is regulated by the Consejo Regulador Del Tequila and can only be produced in certain municipalities within five Mexican states:  Guanajuato, Jalisco, Michoacán, Nayarit and Tamaulipas.  Jalisco accounts for the vast majority of all tequila produced.


4. There are five types of tequila:

  1. Blanco (or Silver/Plata): A white spirit, unaged and bottled or stored immediately after distillation—or aged for less than two months in stainless steel or oak barrels
  2. Joven: Unaged blanco that is flavored with caramel coloring or sugars (“oro” or “gold”) or blended with aged tequila.
  3.  Reposado: Aged for a minimum of two months, but less than a year in oak barrels
  4.  Añejo: Aged for a minimum of one year, but less than three years in oak barrels
  5.  Extra Añejo: Aged for a minimum of three years in oak barrels. Tequila must be aged in French or White oak barrels.

5. Tequila aficionados don’t typically shoot tequila. Instead they use the “official” tequila glass, Ouverture produced by Riedel, a champagne flute or a snifter to sip the spirit. This way they can take in the aromas and flavors.